The world is a harsh place that will only laugh if you drown in your tears: The Back Story of Operation Question M?rk.

Dramatic title I know, but it will all come full circle. Just stay with me.

When I was three I saw Jurassic Park for the first time and instantly fell in love. So much so that I wanted to pursue paleontology as a career. This was the start of a running trend. In 1st grade I read my first book on space and I knew that I was meant to be an astronomer. In 1996, my mother made me watch the Presidential Debate and I set becoming the first African-American President (2nd isn’t too bad right…) as my ultimate goal. By the time I was in middle school, I felt that it was time I took my first steps into the political world. I gave running for 7th grade class president everything I had, but sadly I suffered a devastating loss to the pretty blonde that everyone secretly hated. That election taught me two things, beautiful women always win and that politics was not my arena. Over the years my ideal career changed as often as my body decided to sprout hair in new and awkward places. In high school, I believed I hit the jackpot. I found a passion that dwarfed all those before it. I realized that throughout my life there was an ability that I had always possessed, the power to bring whatever I imagined to life…in my head. Why not get paid ungodly amounts of money allowing people to see what I imagine? So I set my sights on becoming a filmmaker. I threw myself into the world of film with all the gusto I could muster. I studied film terminology, techniques, and technologies. When I graduated high school, I knew what the next stage of the plan was. I applied to film school and now here I am, in my senior year doubting my career choice.

What I am trying to explain is that this is the first time in my life where I do not have a plan or purpose. This is completely new territory and honestly a scary time for me. However, to quote my late mother  “Boy, the world is a harsh place that will only laugh if you drown in your tears”. So I created this blog to do exactly that, not drown in my tears. Despite the new turn my life has taken, I will keep moving forward with focus and determination. Loving the present as I look towards the future. 🙂

Leave a comment